“Mystery at it’s best!” – “Murder in Humboldt” (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell

Murder in humboldt.jpg
Line Blurb
Set in the sixties, Carson Reno is the owner of the Drake Detective Agency in Memphis. When asked to investigate what might be infidelity by a wife who thinks she is hiring a stranger, he ends up implicated in the murder of JR Maxwell in his own hometown. Two thugs (Bubba and Bobby) try to convince him to keep his distance while the police chief insists he returns to Humboldt to answer some questions. Of course, there are some lovely ladies to provide some distraction, as well as Carson’s friends at Chiefs and the Starlight to provide support and libation. The union shut down at the textile mill, the trucks not allowed to leave, and the questionable meetings of JR, especially with General Samson and Judy Strong, give the story added dimension.
Having come of age in the sixties, the classic cars and social norms depicted by Darnell held a touch of nostalgia. The characters seemed to fit the times. The plot was easy to follow, but JR’s murderer and the motive weren’t obvious until the end. Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam, and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure. This is the first in the Carson Reno series, the 12th (Justifiable Homicide) was published in October 2014.
Line review
Mystery at it’s best

By Michael G.

If you’re from a small town, you know how politics and personal relationships have a huge influence over life and/or death in the community. Murder is seldom experienced in small towns and when it happens, the world is turned totally upside down. Murder in Humboldt is exciting, never know who “done it” until the end mystery novel. Well written and enjoyable. Can’t wait till the next issue is available.

Line video

 “Murder in Humboldt is exciting, never know who “done it” until the end mystery novel” – Murder in Humboldt (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell

ger-murder-in-humboldt-with-gun

Line Blurb
All Carson Reno Mystery Series Books are standalone novels. It is not necessary to read them in any particular order.
The year is 1962 and this small west Tennessee town has been turned upside down by a labor strike at its main manufacturing plant. It seems that, as a result of the strike, some very serious underworld crime problems have surfaced in Humboldt. A small-town sheriff and small-town Chief of Police have their hands full dealing with the strike – when the worst happens – one of the principal figures surrounding the labor problems is murdered.
Carson Reno is very familiar with Humboldt – after all, he grew up and went to high school there. But Carson has a successful private investigation business in Memphis and no desire or reason to get involved. However, circumstances pull him into the turmoil and a situation that grows more dangerous every day. By trying to not become involved, he becomes deeply involved and ultimately the prime suspect for the Murder in Humboldt.
Line review
Michael G.

Mystery at it’s best

If you’re from a small town, you know how politics and personal relationships have a huge influence over life and/or death in the community. Murder is seldom experienced in small towns and when it happens, the world is turned totally upside down. Murder in Humboldt is exciting, never know who “done it” until the end mystery novel. Well written and enjoyable. I can’t wait till the next issue is available.

Line video

line-for-ger
Line buy links
Ger murder in humboldt

Amazon – FREE on Kindle Unlimited
Apple iBooks
Audible
Barnes & Noble
GooglePlay Books
Lulu
Rakuten-Kobo 
Smashwords

Murder in Humboldt (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell – #Murder, #MurderThrillers

Murder in humboldt

Line Blurb
All Carson Reno Mystery Series Books are standalone novels. It is not necessary to read them in any particular order.
The year is 1962 and this small west Tennessee town has been turned upside down by a labor strike at its main manufacturing plant. It seems that, as result of the strike, some very serious underworld crime problems have surfaced in Humboldt. A small town sheriff and small town Chief of Police have their hands full dealing with the strike – when the worst happens – one of the principal figures surrounding the labor problems is murdered.
Carson Reno is very familiar with Humboldt – after all, he grew up and went to high school there. But Carson has a successful private investigation business in Memphis and no desire or reason to get involved. However, circumstances pull him into the turmoil and a situation that grows more dangerous every day. By trying to not become involved, he becomes deeply involved and ultimately the prime suspect for the Murder in Humboldt.
Line review
Michael G.

Mystery at it’s best

If you’re from a small town, you know how politics and personal relationship have a huge influence over life and/or death in the community. Murder is seldom experienced in small towns and when it happens, the world is turned totally upside down. Murder in Humboldt is an exciting, never know who “done it” until the end mystery novel. Well written and enjoyable. Can’t wait till the next issue is available.

Line video

line-for-ger
Line buy links
Ger murder in humboldt

Amazon – FREE on Kindle Unlimited
Apple iBooks
Audible
Barnes & Noble
GooglePlay Books
Rakuten-Kobo 

Smashwords