“Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure.” – “Murder in Humboldt” (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell

Murder in humboldt.jpg
Line Blurb

Set in the sixties, Carson Reno is the owner of the Drake Detective Agency in Memphis. When asked to investigate what might be infidelity by a wife who thinks she is hiring a stranger, he ends up implicated in the murder of JR Maxwell in his own hometown. Two thugs (Bubba and Bobby) try to convince him to keep his distance while the police chief insists he returns to Humboldt to answer some questions. Of course, there are some lovely ladies to provide some distraction, as well as Carson’s friends at Chiefs and the Starlight to provide support and libation. The union shut down at the textile mill, the trucks not allowed to leave, and the questionable meetings of JR, especially with General Samson and Judy Strong, give the story added dimension.
Having come of age in the sixties, the classic cars and social norms depicted by Darnell held a touch of nostalgia. The characters seemed to fit the times. The plot was easy to follow, but JR’s murderer and the motive weren’t obvious until the end. Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam, and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure. This is the first in the Carson Reno series, the 12th (Justifiable Homicide) was published in October 2014.

Line review

c-lu

Throwback to the Sixties

Set in the sixties, Carson Reno is the owner of the Drake Detective Agency in Memphis. When asked to investigate what might be infidelity by a wife who thinks she is hiring a stranger, he ends up implicated in the murder of JR Maxwell in his own hometown. Two thugs (Bubba and Bobby) try to convince him to keep his distance while the police chief insists he return to Humboldt to answer some questions. Of course, there are some lovely ladies to provide some distraction, as well as Carson’s friends at Chiefs and the Starlight to provide support and libation. The union shut down at the textile mill, the trucks not allowed to leave, and the questionable meetings of JR, especially with General Samson and Judy Strong, give the story added dimension.

Having come of age in the sixties, the classic cars and social norms depicted by Darnell held a touch of nostalgia. The characters seemed to fit the times. The plot was easy to follow, but JR’s murderer and the motive weren’t obvious until the end. Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure. This is the first in the Carson Reno series, the 12th (Justifiable Homicide) was published in October 2014.

line-for-ger
Line buy links
Ger murder in humboldt

Amazon – FREE on Kindle Unlimited
Apple iBooks
Audible
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
GooglePlay Books
Rakuten-Kobo
Smashwords

One Reply to ““Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure.” – “Murder in Humboldt” (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell”

Leave a Reply to The Owl Lady Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.