“Mystery at it’s best!” – “Murder in Humboldt” (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell

Murder in humboldt.jpgSet in the sixties, Carson Reno is the owner of the Drake Detective Agency in Memphis. When asked to investigate what might be infidelity by a wife who thinks she is hiring a stranger, he ends up implicated in the murder of JR Maxwell in his own hometown. Two thugs (Bubba and Bobby) try to convince him to keep his distance while the police chief insists he return to Humboldt to answer some questions. Of course, there are some lovely ladies to provide some distraction, as well as Carson’s friends at Chiefs and the Starlight to provide support and libation. The union shut down at the textile mill, the trucks not allowed to leave, and the questionable meetings of JR, especially with General Samson and Judy Strong, give the story added dimension.
Having come of age in the sixties, the classic cars and social norms depicted by Darnell held a touch of nostalgia. The characters seemed to fit the times. The plot was easy to follow, but JR’s murderer and the motive weren’t obvious until the end. Fans of Perry Mason, Mike Hammer, Donald Lam and others from that era will like Carson Reno for sure. This is the first in the Carson Reno series, the 12th (Justifiable Homicide) was published in October 2014.
5-star review
Mystery at it’s best
By Michael G.
If you’re from a small town, you know how politics and personal relationship have a huge influence over life and/or death in the community. Murder is seldom experienced in small towns and when it happens, the world is turned totally upside down. Murder in Humboldt is exciting, never know who “done it” until the end mystery novel. Well written and enjoyable. Can’t wait till the next issue is available.
Line for video

Click here to watch the book trailer
for Murder in Humboldt!

line-for-ger
Ger murder in humboldt

“Murder in Humboldt” 
(Carson Reno Mystery
Series, Book 1) 
by Gerald W. Darnell
Can be found at:

Amazon – FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Apple iBooks

Barnes & Noble

GooglePlay Books

Rakuten-Kobo

Smashwords

One Reply to ““Mystery at it’s best!” – “Murder in Humboldt” (Carson Reno Mystery Series, Book 1) by Gerald W. Darnell”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.